Planning Commission


JUNE 2, 2020


The Hemet Planning Commission was created in accordance with the provisions of the State Planning Act. The Planning Commission of the City of Hemet shall consist of five (5) members appointed by the City Council. A quorum of transaction of business shall be three members, and the majority of those members present shall have the power to decide all matters properly before the commission. All interested applicants are encouraged to apply. Please contact the City Clerk’s Office at (951) 765-2395 for more information.

 Duties and Responsibilities

Reviews and approves:

  • Tentative Parcel and Tract Maps
  • Conditional Use Permits
  • Site Development Reviews
  • Extensions of Time

Reviews and make recommendations to the City Council concerning:

  • Specific Plans & Planned Developments
  • Amendments to the General Plan and Zoning Code
  • Zone Changes
  • Establishment of designs and development standards

Commissioners & Terms

NameTitleDate AppointedExpiration of Term
John WuerthChairman02/23/201104/01/2022
Lori VanArsdaleVice Chairman04/28/202004/01/2022
Jacob BeamesderferCommissioner05/12/202004/01/2022
Cyndi LemkeCommissioner11/13/201806/01/2023
Dana HillCommissioner01/02/202106/01/2023


This commission shall meet on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month, unless otherwise noticed. Notices for the meeting will follow the Ralph M. Brown Act. Agendas will be posted online and outside Hemet City Hall. Public attendance is welcome.

Contact the Planning Commission/ Submit Public Comment

For the Commission please contact: Gabriela Hernandez, Planning Commission Secretary:

  • Phone: (951) 765-3881
  • Mail or hand-delivered correspondence:
City Hall, Planning Division
Attn: Gabriela Hernandez
445 E. Florida Avenue
Hemet, CA 92545
  • In person: At any public meeting. Refer to agenda date, time and location. Comment accepted on agenda items before action is taken. Special meetings may limit comment to agenda topics only.

Sign up to Receive Notifications of New Agendas

To sign up to receive an email or text message notification when a new agenda is published, please visit our Notify Me page.

Assigned Staff to the Planning Commission

The City Manager assigns staff resources to assist the committee with the discharge of its duties. The City of Hemet staff assigned is:  H.P. Kang, Community Development Director, (951) 765-2456, Email